Ordering

Half slab or full slab? How to compare rib orders

On this page · 5 sections

Straight answer

A half slab is not a reliable six-rib promise across restaurants. Shorty’s Toledo explicitly lists six bones for its half-rack platter and twelve for its full rack; the other three menus below do not give those counts for their slab orders. [1] [2] [4] [5] Compare the exact item, disclosed quantity and included food before choosing.

Menu comparison: two half-rack platters and one full-rack platter each total twelve listed bones, at different base prices.
Original menu-count comparison by codex-article-foundation, using Shorty’s Toledo prices checked on October 3, 2026. Two half-rack platters total $49.98 and twelve listed bones; one full rack is $35.99 and twelve listed bones. Equal counts do not establish equal meat weight. Confirm whether the adjacent two-side-and-cornbread note covers these rib platters. [1] Open the full-size diagram.

Read the item, then the bundle

A dinner, a rib-only order and a full slab for two can include different food even on one menu. Joe’s separate full slab is recommended for carryout, but that wording does not restrict it to carryout. [2] [5]

What four menus actually disclose

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to compare all columns.

The same four menu rows appear in both tables. Prices are base menu amounts checked October 3, 2026; unknown quantities stay unknown.
Operator / menu scopeNamed portion and base priceCut, bone count or weight
Shorty’s — Toledo food menuHalf-rack platter $24.99; full-rack platter $35.99. [1]St. Louis style pork ribs; half lists six bones, full twelve. No meat weight stated. [1]
Joe’s KC — restaurant menuRib Dinner: half $20.79. Slab Dinner: full $30.99. Separate Just Ribs full slab: $27.99. [2]Cut, bone count and weight not stated for these slab rows. [2]
Pappy’s — St. Louis menuMain rib orders: half $19.99, full $29.99. Carryout-only, no sides: half $18.99 upon availability, full $28.99. [4]Cut, bone count and weight not stated. The St. Louis location name does not establish the cut. [4]
Rendezvous — restaurant menuFull slab for two: $38. Large $26.50 and small $21.50 are separate labels, not stated half/full equivalents. [5]Cut, bone count and weight not stated for the full-slab row. [5]

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to compare all columns.

Inclusions and diner estimates belong to the exact item or menu section named here, not every order sold by that restaurant.
Operator / menu scopeSides and breadSauce disclosurePublished diner estimate
Shorty’s — Toledo food menuAdjacent BBQ Platters note: two regular sides and a cornbread muffin. Confirm it applies to the preceding rib platters. [1]Rib description says finished on the grill with original sauce; a separate side portion is not stated. [1]No diner estimate stated for these rack platters. [1]
Joe’s KC — restaurant menuBoth Rib Dinners: one side and Texas toast. That inclusion is not attached to the separate Just Ribs row. [2]Applied or side-sauce policy not stated in these slab rows. [2]Just Ribs full slab: two to three people. No estimate attached to the dinner rows. [2]
Pappy’s — St. Louis menuMain Ribs section: two sides. Carryout-only rib rows: no sides. Bread inclusion not stated for these orders. [4]Dry-rubbed describes preparation; it does not answer whether sauce is applied or supplied separately. [4]No standalone slab diner estimate stated. [4]
Rendezvous — restaurant menuFull slab for two: two slaw and two beans. Linked table menu says bread is available on request. [5] [6]The explicit sauce-and-seasoning inclusion is for frozen boxes; it does not settle the on-site slab’s sauce. [5]Full slab for two explicitly names two diners; treat that as operator guidance, not a guarantee. [5]

For a Rendezvous to-go order, the linked table menu also lists a 25¢ surcharge per item. Include that charge when comparing your actual basket; the table above shows base prices. [6]

Two halves versus one full: a same-menu example

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to compare all columns.

Shorty’s Toledo base-price arithmetic, with each menu-listed bone count kept explicit. [1]
ChoiceListed-bone calculationBase-price calculation
Two half-rack platters2 × 6 = 12 listed bones. [1]2 × $24.99 = $49.98. [1]
One full-rack platter1 × 12 = 12 listed bones. [1]1 × $35.99 = $35.99. [1]

The base-price difference is $49.98 − $35.99 = $13.99. This compares menu prices and listed counts only; it does not prove equal rib size, meat weight or edible yield. [1]

Shorty’s two-side-and-cornbread note sits under the adjacent BBQ Platters heading. If the restaurant confirms that it covers each rib platter, two half platters would include two sets while one full platter would include one set. [1]

Ask what additional sides or bread would cost for the order you want before deciding which complete meal costs less. Tax, tip, delivery charges and optional upgrades are outside this base-price calculation.

Four checks before you order

  1. Name the exact item and channel: dinner, rib-only order, restaurant takeout or shipped box. Confirm you are comparing the same kind of purchase.
  2. Ask which rib cut it is and whether the menu’s portion label has a stated bone count or weight. Keep an unanswered quantity blank rather than assigning another restaurant’s count.
  3. Confirm sides, bread and sauce for that item, including whether sauce is already applied or comes separately. Ask about anything the menu leaves unclear.
  4. Attach a diner estimate only to the item it describes. Then compare the cost of your complete order, including any extras and disclosed charges.

Use the meat guide for general cut background and the Memphis guide for restaurant context. For a broader bill comparison, what barbecue costs explains the spending context; the slab labels here still need their own menu checks.

Sources and method

  1. Shorty’s Toledo food menu
    Source checked · shortystoledo.com
  2. Joe’s Kansas City restaurant menu
    Source checked · www.joeskc.com
  3. Joe’s Kansas City linked print menu — revised September 2026
    Source checked · cdn.shopify.com
  4. Pappy’s Smokehouse St. Louis menu
    Source checked · www.pappyssmokehouse.com
  5. Rendezvous restaurant menu
    Source checked · hogsfly.com
  6. Rendezvous linked table menu
    Source checked · hogsfly.com

How this article is prepared

Researched and drafted with AI assistance from the cited sources. Examples and calculations retain their stated assumptions; illustrations do not establish restaurant visits or equipment tests. Additional editorial and image review is pending.

About BBQ Explorer