Regions

Central Texas vs East Texas barbecue: compare the actual menus

On this page · 6 sections

Straight answer

Central and East Texas are useful historical traditions, not rules for every plate. The Texas Historical Commission’s 2005 account associates Central Texas with German meat markets and describes African American Southern cooking traditions in East Texas. [1] Current menus overlap: Terry Black’s in Lockhart lists chopped beef sandwiches, while Patillo’s in Beaumont sells half-pound meat orders. [2] [9] Check the branch’s cut, selling unit and sauce details rather than ordering from a regional stereotype.

Four attributed business milestones: Kreuz purchase and rename in 1900; Patillo’s business and restaurant accounts in 1912; Stanley’s purchase and rename in 1960; Kreuz relocation and Roy Perez carrying hot coals in 1999.
Original source-based timeline by Codex, showing four dated milestones across three businesses. Kreuz’s company history supplies the 1900 purchase and rename, 1999 move and Roy Perez’s role. [6] Patillo’s menu and family account supply 1912. [9] [10] Stanley’s company story supplies the 1960 purchase and rename. [7] These business accounts do not establish barbecue’s origin or an oldest ranking. Open the full-size diagram.

Traditions have people behind them

Andy Rhodes’s Texas Historical Commission article first appeared in July/August 2005 and was reprinted online in 2020. It attributes German meat-market and Southern African American influences to food writer Robb Walsh. [1] Its account of African American and Mexican American cotton pickers buying market barbecue is explicitly a likely explanation, not a settled origin story. [1]

The same article attributes an East Texas shift from Southern pork cooking toward plentiful beef to Walsh. [1] Its Sam’s example is in East Austin, which is distinct from East Texas; a dated anecdote is not a current menu or ownership statement. [1]

In Megan Zapalac’s September 7, 2023 Beaumont Enterprise interview, Robert Patillo describes barbecue as important in the Black community and talks about advising people who bring him their links. [11] That is a Beaumont practitioner’s perspective, not a popularity ranking for every community.

Four operator cases, checked October 4, 2026 (UTC)

Terry Black’s Lockhart menu lists both sliced brisket and chopped beef, plus beef ribs, pork ribs, turkey and sausage. [2] Its chain FAQ describes in-store market service: sides first, then meats. [3] A chopped beef sandwich belongs within this Central Texas example, while the FAQ excludes small sandwich pickup orders. [3]

Kreuz’s menu names brisket and clod alongside pork and poultry choices, with separate selling units for hot sausage. [5] Its own method statement names salt and pepper and post oak; these are Kreuz’s descriptions, not every Central Texas cook’s formula or a complete sausage ingredient list. [4] Current menu silence about sauce does not establish a no-sauce policy. [5]

Stanley’s names brisket, ribs and house-made sausage among its foods, alongside the Mother Clucker chicken-thigh sandwich. [7] [8] That sandwich includes spicy BBQ mayo, cheddar, a jalapeno cheese bun and fried egg. [8] Its official page credits Nick Pencis, Jonathan Shaw and Jordan Jackson with the dish. [8]

Patillo’s offers half-pound meat orders as well as plates and sandwiches; the plate heading specifies three trimmings. [9] Its generic Beef label does not identify a cut, and its Extra Sauce listing does not disclose the recipe or default placement. [9] The family’s historical account credits Jack’s Creole-Cajun cooking, while Robert’s 2021 interview describes continuity in making links. [10] [12]

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to compare all columns.

Selected menu terms and selling formats at the four named businesses; these rows are cases, not a survey of either region.
Operator and contextSelected meat or dishPublished format
Terry Black’s — LockhartSliced brisket; beef/pork ribs; turkey; sausage; chopped beef. [2]Meats per pound; chopped beef sandwich also listed. In-store FAQ: sides then meats. [2] [3]
Kreuz Market — LockhartBrisket, clod, pork cuts and turkey breast. [5]Those cuts per pound; original hot sausage each. [5]
Stanley’s — TylerBrisket, ribs and house-made sausage; Mother Clucker smoked chicken thigh. [7] [8]Featured composed sandwich; no by-pound claim is made from these pages. [8]
Patillo’s — BeaumontGeneric Beef, pork, ribs or ham; the beef cut remains unspecified. [9]Half-pound meat orders; sandwiches; plates with three trimmings. [9]

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to compare all columns.

What the same sources establish about sauce and ordering; an unanswered question is not proof that a choice is unavailable.
Operator and contextSauce evidenceChannel or question to check
Terry Black’s — LockhartThe captured branch menu does not disclose a sauce formula or default placement. [2]In-store sandwich listing is distinct from the FAQ’s small sandwich pickup restriction. [2] [3]
Kreuz Market — LockhartSalt-and-pepper meat rub/post oak described; current menu omits sauce. Ask about sauce. [4] [5]Check the cut and unit; hot sausage’s each unit is distinct from the listed cuts’ pound unit. [5]
Stanley’s — TylerSpicy BBQ mayo named for Mother Clucker; no complete sauce formula/list established. [8]Official pages describe featured foods. Check the actual ordering menu for your order’s portion and inclusions.
Patillo’s — BeaumontExtra Sauce is listed; base and default placement remain unspecified. [9]Ask which beef cut you will receive and whether sauce is already applied. [9]

The comparison uses the named branch menus, Terry Black’s chain FAQ and Stanley’s official food descriptions checked on October 4, 2026 (UTC). Stanley’s full linked ordering menu could not be verified, so these pages do not establish its complete portions or service options. A menu item’s existence also does not promise stock when you arrive.

Use the contrast without turning it into a rule

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to compare all columns.

Editorial comparison of these four cases only; no prevalence, regional border, tasting or quality ranking is inferred.
Reader questionCentral cases hereEast cases hereException or next question
How is meat sold?Terry Black’s lists meats per pound and describes market service. [2] [3]Patillo’s lists half-pound orders, plates and sandwiches. [9]Weight service crosses these examples; confirm format and order channel.
Which cut or dish?Terry Black’s lists chopped beef sandwiches; Kreuz names brisket and clod. [2] [5]Stanley’s combines classic meats with a chicken sandwich; Patillo’s says Beef. [7] [8] [9]Sliced versus chopped is not a rule for these cases; ask when a cut is unnamed.
What about sauce?Kreuz states its rub/wood; menu silence does not settle sauce service. [4] [5]Stanley’s names BBQ mayo; Patillo’s lists extra sauce. [8] [9]Ask the base and whether sauce is already added.
Continuity or new dishes?Kreuz credits Roy Perez’s role in its move. [6]Robert Patillo’s 2021 account emphasizes continuity; Stanley’s credits named sandwich creators. [12] [8]Both continuity and new dishes appear here; neither region is frozen in one era.

Four dated milestones across three businesses

These are selected business accounts from Kreuz, Patillo’s and Stanley’s, with Kreuz appearing twice. They do not establish who invented Texas barbecue, an oldest-business ranking or an independently proven unbroken fire.

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to compare all columns.

Readable equivalent of the original timeline: every event stays attributed to its own business account.
Date and businessAttributed milestoneSource and limit
1900 — Kreuz MarketCharles Kreuz Sr. purchased an existing store and renamed it Kreuz Market. [6]Kreuz company history; purchase/rename, not a regional origin. [6]
1912 — Patillo’sMenu says in business since 1912; family account describes Jack becoming a restaurant proprietor that year. [9] [10]Current menu and family account; attributed business history. [9] [10]
1960 — Stanley’sJD Stanley bought and renamed an existing barbecue business. [7]Stanley’s company story; not the beginning of East Texas barbecue. [7]
1999 — Kreuz MarketCompany history dates the move and credits pitmaster Roy Perez with carrying hot coals. [6]Kreuz company history; a credited account, not independent fire-continuity proof. [6]

Four questions for the branch you visit

  1. Which meat and cut does this item name, and what remains unspecified?
  2. Is this sold by weight, by piece, as a plate or as a sandwich?
  3. What is the sauce, and is it already on the meat, separate, or both?
  4. Does this branch’s dine-in, pickup or shipping channel have different portions or inclusions?

Use the meat guide for broader cut terminology and the Lockhart guide for its selected joints, including Kreuz. The Houston guide is a separate city-discovery resource; Stanley’s Tyler and Patillo’s Beaumont are not Houston listings.

Sources and method

  1. Texas Historical Commission: Bringing Texas Barbecue History to the Table
    Source checked · thc.texas.gov
  2. Terry Black’s Lockhart branch menu
    Source checked · terryblacksbbq.com
  3. Terry Black’s ordering FAQ
    Source checked · terryblacksbbq.com
  4. Kreuz Market smoking-method statement
    Source checked · www.kreuzmarket.com
  5. Kreuz Market menu
    Source checked · www.kreuzmarket.com
  6. Kreuz Market attributed company history
    Source checked · www.kreuzmarket.com
  7. Stanley’s company story and foods
    Source checked · stanleysfamous.com
  8. Stanley’s featured menu
    Source checked · stanleysfamous.com
  9. Patillo’s Beaumont menu
    Source checked · www.patillosbbqtx.com
  10. Patillo’s attributed family company history
    Source checked · patillosbbq.com
  11. Robert Patillo first-person interview, Beaumont Enterprise, September 7 2023
    Source checked · www.beaumontenterprise.com
  12. Robert Patillo first-person interview, Texas Bucket List, June 30 2021
    Source checked · thetexasbucketlist.com

How this article is prepared

Researched and drafted with AI assistance from the cited sources. Examples and calculations retain their stated assumptions; illustrations do not establish restaurant visits or equipment tests. Additional editorial and image review is pending.

About BBQ Explorer